State Rep. Doug Broxson easily won his bid for the Florida Senate on Tuesday, as did Frank White and Mel Ponder in their campaigns for the Florida House.

Sitting State Rep. Clay Ingram, who represents central and northern Escambia County, also easily won his reelection bid.

All four Republicans easily won their respective races. With no serious opposition, Broxson netted nearly 200,000 votes as he trounced two write-in candidates in State Senate District 1, which encompasses all of Escambia and Santa Rosa counties along with a small section of Okaloosa County. Broxson succeeds Greg Evers, who vacated the seat this year to mount an unsuccessful campaign for Congress.

Ingram, who also works as the president and CEO of the Greater Pensacola Chamber, said he was “truly humbled” to receive 76% of the vote. “Thank you to the voters of House District 1 for giving me the honor of continuing my service to our community,” Ingram said.

White, a political newcomer, handily defeated Democratic challenger Ray Guillory in the House District 2 race, taking 59% of the vote and outpacing Guillory by around 16,000 votes. A Pensacola attorney, White replaces outgoing Rep. Mike Hill, who unsuccessfully challenged Broxson for the State Senate seat in the Republican primary. The District 2 seat covers much of south Escambia County, Pensacola, Gulf Breeze, and Pensacola Beach.

“The greatest honor of my life will be to serve in the Florida House of Representatives,” White said Tuesday evening. “Thank you to the voters of House District 2 for allowing me to serve them for the next two years.”

In Okaloosa, former Destin Mayor Mel Ponder won the House seat being vacated by Matt Gaetz, who was elected to the U.S. Congress on Tuesday. Ponder eked out a narrow victory in August’s five-way Republican primary, but won an overwhelming 97% of the vote Tuesday, facing only a lone write-in candidate.

Former Santa Rosa County commissioner Jayer Williamson will assume Broxson’s old District 3 state house seat. With no Democrats vying for the seat, that race was decided in the August 30 Republican primary election.


Send this to a friend